Sara Kirke Award for Entrepreneurship and Innovation – Apply Today!

Attention: open in a new window. PrintE-mail

5 days left to apply – deadline has been extended to April 19th at 11:59 p.m. EST

The Sara Kirke Award for Entrepreneurship and Innovation is presented to the woman who has shown the most outstanding technological innovation and corporate leadership -- leadership that has significantly expanded the frontiers of Canada's advanced technology industry. The purpose of the Award is to celebrate innovation, entrepreneurship and create positive role models for women in Canada’s technology sector. The Sara Kirke Award for Entrepreneurship and Innovation is presented annually by CanWIT, a Division of CATAAlliance, to the woman who has demonstrated consistent innovation and leadership skills, resulting in the creation and international acceptance of significant world-class products and/or services.

Canadian Women in Technology (CanWIT) is a National non-profit network launched by CATAAlliance designed to boost women's participation and advancement in the high-growth technology sector.

Sara Kirke is considered by many to be North America's first entrepreneur. Sara Kirke arrived in Newfoundland in 1638 with her husband David Kirke, who was soon recalled to England. Sara, however, continued to reside in Avalon, and conducted business as usual from the Pool Plantation. Lady Kirke was a remarkable individual as she managed affairs at the Pool Plantation and became one of the most successful merchants on the English Shore -- and was almost certainly North America's first and foremost woman entrepreneur.

Nomination Criteria

The selection is based on a written resume of the nominee's accomplishments and the selection criteria include:

  • Innovation
  • Corporate Leadership
  • Recognized Achievements in Area of Expertise
  • Community Involvement and Mentorship
  • Contributions to achieving a more competitive investment climate in Canada will also be taken into account.

The Call for Nominations for 2013 is now open until April 19th! Apply today!

Nominators must fill out the Sara Kirke Award nomination form at: